Skip to content

So Close Yet so Far Away

March 25, 2010

I was mildly vexed by the need to find a few remote quests for Terror of Terrokar.

I was irritated by the need to do Scryers/Aldor quests to open up the last chain I needed for Nagrand Slam.

Maybe I’m spoiled by how easily we got the Zangarmarsh and Hellfire achievements.  Even the 120 quests needed for Netherstorm came easily.  Easier than the 86 needed for On the Blade’s Edge.  We’re down to needing four more quests, and I’m really kinda dreading the process.  There isn’t much leeway between the number of Alliance quests in the region and the number of quests required, and that includes the Ogri’la quests that are dependent on reputation to even pick up.  Much as I don’t like grinding rep, I’m not the one who’s really ticked.

Yesterday, as Garnam was working on the Apexis Emanations daily (WoW’s answer to Simon), it glitched.  I watched him do the whole process.  He hit all of the right colors, and still didn’t get credit for completing it.  Moments later, a mob showed up.  Not a big deal, right?  Well, normally it wouldn’t bother either of us too much.  Little frustrations happen in the game, we all just deal with them and move on.  Except that the exact same glitch had gotten Garnam the day before.  Luckily the Skyguard dailies also give Ogri’la reputation.  I think we’ll be doing those by themselves from now on.

Bad luck streaks seem to amplify themselves when you’re always playing in a group.  Usually it’s the random number generator that gets us.  After we left Blade’s Edge yesterday we began questing in Shadowmoon Valley.  We did the quest to collect dinosaur spleens.  Garnam, who is still not happy about dancing with the same glitch fairy twice in two days, wanted a change of scenery while he chilled out.  The spleen RNG liked me.  Four of my first five searches dropped spleens.  He didn’t get one until his tenth search.  When the RNG hates you, it’s frustrating as hell to be grouped with the RNG’s new BFF.  I know this is true because I’ve watched him pick up six quest drops to my one before.  I could feel his pain.

I always tell myself that once he gets his last wolf paw/bear hide/diemetrodon spleen, all of the drops will be mine.

Then we find out it’s a BoP world drop and he’s just collected one more that he can’t trade to me.  Then we cuss a little and change the loot options.

Back to my original question.  Why does a quest count achievement have an indirectly built-in reputation requirement (referring to the need to be honored with Ogri’la to get the last quests we need for On the Blade’s Edge)?  Cant’ we just remove the reputation requirement for those quests?

On the lighter side…

About time!

Oh, and…

Garnam got his, too!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 8:38 pm

    I feel your pain. My boyfriend and I are levelling two druids at the moment and pick up quests are such a annoyance. One of us always gets their 10 really fast then we spend the next 30 minutes picking up junk. It’s not helped by the fact that we quest with free for all loot on, so whenever a mob dies we are both madly spamming right click. I wish Blizzard would change all pick up quests so if a mob has an quest item in their inventory they would drop as many items as there are people on the quest in the party. That would take a lot of the pain out of questing as a pair/group.

  2. March 28, 2010 1:20 pm

    The Quest Achievements in Outland can be a nightmare. Blade’s Edge especially. I had one missing quest for Blade’s Edge for the longest time. I searched everywhere. Made sure I did every drop item quest, and every piece of every chain… In the end, the quest I needed was actually in Zangarmarsh. The one that sends you TO Blade’s Edge. There was a string of profanity that bordered on obscene when I figured that out.

  3. March 28, 2010 1:47 pm

    Erinys,

    I love the ones that if it drops for one, it drops for everyone! The other pattern, which usually happens to us, is person A gets 9 out of 10 before B gets 3. Then A doesn’t get another drop until B has all 10.

    Vrykerion,

    We got that one and I’ve hit Wowhead looking for any remote quests that we haven’t done. I turned on the unfinished quest tracker for QuestHelper… We’re stuck running dailies for the Skyguard. When we get tired of looking at Outland, we work on Borean Tundra.

    • March 28, 2010 3:16 pm

      There is also one that opens up at Exalted with the Consortium that counts for Blade’s Edge… but the Skyguard would probably be the quicker solution. 😀

Leave a Reply

