Skip to content

Surviving Stranglethorn

November 26, 2009

Well, in the last week or so, we finished Darkshore, then Garnam’s player decided he didn’t want us to gain any experience for a day or so while we knocked out Ratchet, the Wailing Caverns and Razorfen Kraul.  Afterwards, we hit most of Desolace, all of Thousand Needles, and we just wrapped-up Stranglethorn Vale.  We do need to go back and finish exploring Desolace and Thousand Needles, but we also need to finish Desolace.  I don’t think either of us is looking forward to Maraudon.  I’ve been through that dungeon once on my hunter at level 80.  If I didn’t want the Classic Dungeonmaster achievement, I’d bypass it.

Not to say, “I told you so,” but Hillsbrad Foothills is almost all grey, now.  It’ll be at least another day of gaining maybe one bar of XP from quest turn-ins on Friday.

I told Garnam that would happen.

My playstyle is evolving, noticeably.  When you’re DPS, your job is to knock that health bar down as fast as possible.  When you’re on healing, your job is to keep a different health bar from going to zero, but sometimes you can switch gears for a bit and help the others chip away at that red bar.  I started off clicking on everything.  Of course, at lower levels, you can afford to do that.  DPS never has much need to learn who the function keys bind to.  I’ve got that one down now; I’m more likely to hit F2 than click on Garnam’s picture.  My fingers know the drill: F2-4 (Rejuvenation)-[shift]f-1-5 (Moonfire).

I have a new pet peeve.  People who repeatedly cast damage-on-impact type spells on the healer (thorns, etc).  It’s a waste of mana to cast it on anyone but the tank, and it just makes life that much more difficult in the event that the healer or DPS draws aggro.  I’ve gotten the argument that it helps kill the mob that’s attacking me.  Honestly, the first thing I do when I pull aggro is run at Garnam.  Then I jump up and down and scream like the little girl I am, “Getitoffgetitoffgetitoff!” until he hits Thunderclap.  The last thing I’m going to do is swing at it.

Another, slightly older peeve that’s really more of a lament is the lack of DPS on WrA at the lower levels.  Garnam and I have two-manned Stockades, Wailing Caverns (Deviate Hatchling dropped for me – SWEET!) Razorfen Kraul and Gnomeregan, and some of those still had green quests when we did it.  At this rate, we’re going to be two-manning SM in the next week or so.

Current level: 44

Ambassador of the Alliance: 3/5

Quests completed: 820/1000

Loremaster of the Eastern Kingdoms: 416/700

Loremaster of Kalimdor: 361/700

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

